The Board of Trustees of
Sabah Parks

World Heritage Site

World Heritage

A UNESCO World Heritage Site is a place (such as a forest, mountain, lake, desert, monument, building, complex, or city) that is listed by the UNESCO as of special cultural or physical significance. The list is maintained by the international World Heritage Programme administered by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, composed of 21 states parties which are elected by their General Assembly.

The program catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance to the common heritage of humanity. Under certain conditions, listed sites can obtain funds from the World Heritage Fund. The programme was founded with the Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage, which was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on November 16, 1972. Since then, 186 states parties have ratified the convention.

UNESCO's World Heritage mission is to:

1. encourage countries to sign the World Heritage Convention and to ensure the protection of their natural and cultural heritage;

2. encourage States Parties to the Convention to nominate sites within their national territory for inclusion on the World Heritage List;

3. encourage States Parties to establish management plans and set up reporting systems on the state of conservation of their World Heritage sites;

4. help States Parties safeguard World Heritage properties by providing technical assistance and professional training;

5. provide emergency assistance for World Heritage sites in immediate danger;

6. support States Parties' public awareness-building activities for World Heritage conservation;

7. encourage participation of the local population in the preservation of their cultural and natural heritage;

8. encourage international cooperation in the conservation of our world's cultural and natural heritage.

The World Heritage List includes 962 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. These include 745 cultural , 188 natural and 29  mixed properties in 157 States Parties. As of September 2012, 190 States  Parties have ratified the World Heritage Convention.


Top 10 World Heritage Site

1. Britain : Stonehenge

2. Mexico : Chichen Itza

3. Easter Island

4. Spain : Alhambra

5. Egypt : The Pyramids of Giza and The Sphinx

6. Palestin : The Old City of Jerusalem and its Wall

7. Italy : Vatican City

8. Peru : Machu Picchu

9. Guatemala : Tikal 

10. Paris : Notre Dame De Paris